Nightwing’s fine ass– I mean, DC’s “Titans”Coming to TV?

According to Deadline, a pilot may be in the works for a show, to be aired on TNT, all about DC’s original young adult team. Attached to write is Akiva Goldsman… Of “Batman & Robin” and “Batman Forever” fame…

Oh, shit.

Oh, shit.

 

Well, a few things are known at the moment. Nightwing is said to be the star of the series because duh, and because that’s the closest I suppose we’ll get to Bat-Nipples on the small screen. Also thrown around have been Starfire and Raven, which would be interesting to see done on a series, what with smaller budgets and tighter deadlines and all.

The validity of these claims was verified by Geoff Johns via his Twitter account:

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” lang=”en”><p>If you’re a TITANS and NIGHTWING fan like me you should read this: <a href=”http://t.co/0cXZoRmmJJ”>http://t.co/0cXZoRmmJJ</a></p>&mdash; Geoff Johns (@geoffjohns) <a href=”https://twitter.com/geoffjohns/status/510204813595144192″>September 11, 2014</a></blockquote>
<script async src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js” charset=”utf-8″></script>

The link takes you to a Wall Street Journal article discussing the (still potential) pilot order.

So… Let’s talk about this a little bit.

We love Nightwing here at TFP. We love all things Batman, but several of us have a soft spot for the original Boy Wonder. Raven and Starfire being added to the mix? Great! I loves me some Titans. Also, hooray for Girl Power! All great things.

In theory.

See, one thing which really does concern me, though, is Superhero Saturation. Every year, several new series, cartoons, and movies are coming out featuring masked and caped vigilantes, and it’s starting to get a little… Well, a little stale. Don’t get me wrong, now. I’ve loved the Marvel movies. I watched “Guardians of the Galaxy” and “X-Men: Days of Future Past” more than is probably medically advisable this past summer, and there’s a brand new copy of “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” firmly nestled in my purse as I type this. But, sadly, not all of the movies coming out are made my Marvel actually all that good.

DC, I’m looking at you. And every bit of news I hear about “Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice.”

Plus, this being tossed around at TNT means they’re going for drama. Which may very well mean a veritable breeding ground for the type of dark, brooding garbage that’s currently going on in the New 52.

So, as I’m really hoping that this turns out to be worth watching, I’m going to be keeping a very skeptical eye on the production of this series. And watching for any casting rumours like a hawk.

Nightwing #138

Nightwing #138

 

Let’s all hope that casting goes well and that we get a good Nightwing with a tight little booty to enjoy weekly. to lead the team of young heroes.

About pattyinreallife

I'm a graphic artist, writer, film-maker, and avid baker. I sing in the car and laugh at the worst/best moments. I am the coolest nerd you will ever meet. Try not to let your jealousy show too badly.

Posted on September 13, 2014, in DC Comics, TV show News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

