Channing Tatum is confirmed to play Gambit

channing tatum

The rumor going around a few months ago was that Channing Tatum had expressed interest in playing Gambit in the X-Men franchise.  He even went as far as to meet with producer Lauren Shuler Donner about the role.  It has officially been confirmed that he will be playing Gambit in an upcoming X-Men movie. Donner has this to say on a red carpet interview:

“He’s a rogue, Channing — he’s a rascal, just like Remy LeBeau. And he can handle the action, we all know that. And he’s got a really good heart … I think he’ll be great for Gambit.”

As we all know Tatum has a love for the Cajun mutant:

“Gambit is the only X-Man I’ve ever loved. I mean, I’ve loved them all, they’re all great, but I guess just being from down South; my dad’s from Louisiana, I’m from Mississippi, Alabama, Florida. I don’t know, I just related to him … I would die to play him.”

Tatum had mentioned months ago that he was working on his Cajun accent.

No word yet if he will be playing in a solo film or if he will be a character in X-Men: Age of Apocalypse.  Singer had already expressed interest in possibly putting Gambit in Age of Apocalyspse.  We might see a solo movie for Gambit after X-Men: Age of Apocalypse.

What do you think about Channing Tatum taking on the role of Gambit?  I like his enthusiasm for the role, that makes me think he will take the role seriously.  Based on that I am willing to reserve opinion until I see him in action.

Posted on May 13, 2014, in Movie News, X-Men and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

