Manicure Mondays! – Make Me Laugh, Clownfish

Happy Monday!

 

This week’s nail art inspiration comes from Disney/Pixar’s “Finding Nemo,” which, I’m always shocked to find out, a lot of people still haven’t seen.

Hey, Mister Grumpy Gills… You’re fuckin’ up.

If you haven’t seen this adorable and heartwarming and really, and truly, hilarious movie, you need to stop whatever you’re doing– WHATEVER you’re doing, I don’t care, you need to go and watch it right now.

Because it’s so inspirational that I painted my nails. And that’s a metaphor for something, I’m sure. And metaphors are important.

And I’ll spare you a Rachel Berry gif.

On to the nails!

Apply your base coats of colours. I did an accent nail, so you’ll notice a bunch of orange and then one blue. We’ll come back to the blue one later.

I'm totally gonna change the shade of blue later, too. Just you watch.

I’m totally gonna change the shade of blue later, too. Just you watch.

So, you start with your orange. I only had one orange on hand, and little did I realise that it was one of those “Sugar Coat” or whatever fuzzy, textures tints. Ah, well. I’m not fussy, so we shall work with what we’ve got.

Sometimes, being economical is a part of being a FanGirl.

Sometimes, being economical is a part of being a FanGirl.

Now, bust out your white nail polish pen and draw yourself some big, fat, squiggly lines. Make ’em chunky and uneven.

Like nature.

Like nature.

Then, once that’s dry, use your black nail polish pen to follow your egdes and outlines them.

Done and done.

Done and done. And really sloppily done.

Clear coat and clean up and you’ve got your Marlon/Nemo/Clownfish nails!

Over on the accent nail, ignore the fact that I had laid down a blue base coat and paint it a gold or yellow instead.

I was gonna do bubbles but then I had a better idea.

I was gonna do bubbles but then I had a better idea.

Paint your sides blue, leaving a gold/yellow stripe that tapers off towards the tip of the nail still visible in the centre.

Do you see where I'm going with this?

Do you see where I’m going with this?

Using your black paint pen once again, trace the edges between your yellow and your black.

Almost looks a little Wolverine-y... Hm. Note to self about future Manicure Mondays.

Almost looks a little Wolverine-y… Hm. Note to self about future Manicure Mondays.

 

Clear coat that nail and clean up and you’re done!

Fish are friends, not food. Also, same with people. Please don't eat me.

Fish are friends, not food. Also, same with people. Please don’t eat me.

You now have four clownfish nails and your accent nail, if you’ve chosen to do one, is a blue tang AKA Dory!

Like all of my relationships.

I hope you’ve enjoyed our tutorial and that you were able to follow my slightly muddled instructions this week!

Haha, it’s funny because it’s true!

Later, Nerds!

 

About pattyinreallife

I'm a graphic artist, writer, film-maker, and avid baker. I sing in the car and laugh at the worst/best moments. I am the coolest nerd you will ever meet. Try not to let your jealousy show too badly.

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Disney Movies, Manicure Mondays, Pixar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

