Zach Snyder responds to Watchman comment and defends Batman vs Superman movie

watchmen

 

Zach Snyder has been in the new a lot lately, first with his response to Joel Silver’s comment about his version of Watchmen being a slave a to the comic and how Terry Gilliams version would have been better.  Of course Snyder had a response to that:

“….if you read the Gilliam ending, it’s completely insane…. So, honestly, I made “Watchmen” for myself. It’s probably my favorite movie that I’ve made. And I love the graphic novel and I really love everything about the movie. I love the style. I just love the movie and it was a labor of love. And I made it because I knew that the studio would have made the movie anyway and they would have made it crazy. So, finally I made it to save it from the Terry Gilliams of this world.”

This comment has elicited a few different responses from people but mostly people are not happy with the comment.  It does not solely have to do with that fact that he thinks it is his job to save us from the Terry Gilliams of the world.  It more so has to do with that fact that Snyder made the movie because he knew the studio would do it no matter what.  In that sense, he is telling us that he made the movie to basically be the lesser of two evils.  I really wish Snyder had not said that at all in his comment, before that he had actually said that he enjoys the comic and that this is his favorite movie that he has ever made.

batman-vs-superman-gains-an-oscar-winning-writer

Now only days later Snyder is back in the news talking about his thoughts on the Batman vs Superman movie.

“[The movie] literally takes the Man of Steel and Batman universes and explodes them. You’re not as tied to the mythology. In Man of Steel, we had to create an origin story, a mythology, and there’s a lot of energy into that, which we love doing. Don’t get me wrong. But when you think about how fun it is too — now that you’ve got these characters — to now let ‘em loose. That’s fun!”

I am not really sure how to take this because is almost seems like Snyder is going with a completely new story.  At San Diego Comic Con, they had been quoting from Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns.

Scene from Frank Miller's "The Dark Knight Returns"

Scene from Frank Miller’s “The Dark Knight Returns”

That led many fans to believe that they would be taking material or at least be influenced by that storyline.  I am not sure how fans are going to react to the possibility that he might be doing something completely different.  While I do appreciate an original story and idea when it comes to iconic characters it does sometimes help to take something from the original source material, otherwise we have another Catwoman movie.

“You know, Superman and Batman in the movies have never existed in the same frame together. So it’s an interesting historical thing. We were just testing the suits, right? The new Batsuit and the Superman suit. It wasn’t even with the actors, right? It was just to see ‘em. I was standing there, they were standing next to each other. And I was like, “Guys, someone take a picture! This has never happened before.” We slightly dork out. Like, “Are you kidding me?!”

I will say this I am happy to hear that he is excited about the movie.  While many of us might be skeptical about the costumes and the casting, it is refreshing to see that Snyder is excited about his movie.  Speaking of casting, Snyder give a response to fan backlash about casting Ben Affleck, Gal Godot, and Jesse Eisenberg in the movie.

“There are two ways to think about it. We know the material. Unfortunately, the fans don’t know the material. So, we’re casting according to what’s happening in the script. And we’re hoping that leads to enough originality, enough perspective on what we’re doing that you get something fresh and exciting. I understand the canon. I’m not crazy. I know what these characters need from a mythological standpoint.”

I will give Snyder this; we don’t know the story or how he plans to make the movie.  As fans, we know the canon, the lore, and the characters.  From that standpoint, we just cannot see how these actors will fit into these iconic characters.

Filming for the movie is supposed to begin this year, so more information should begin coming out about the movie.  Here is to hoping for some leaked pictures that will help either confirm or contradict some of the fan outrage.

Posted on March 4, 2014, in 2016 Movies, Batman, Batman vs Superman, Movie News, Superman and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Watchmen was a great movie because it was at the very least, Watchmen. It was honest to the comics. The monstrosity that was Man of Steel was not at all honest to the Superman comics, and if they are going to do the same to Batman… well, they are crazy. Someone should save us from Snyder in just the same way as he professes he saved us from Gilliam.

    • christenagarcia

      I agree, I am very scared to see what he is doing with the Batman vs Superman movie. While I liked getting background on Superman in the Man of Steel movie, he didn’t follow lore he just did whatever he wanted to do. I will admit I am worried about some of the casting choices, but I guess we will see in 2016.

Leave a Reply

