Possible Farscape movie in the works

Farscape(1)

The current rumor going around is that Farscape might be coming back.  There seems to be some truth to this rumor because Justin Monjo is supposedly working on the script.  Monjo wrote a few of the Farscape episode.  Brian Henson is supposed to be directing it.

The prolific Monjo is also writing the screenplay for Farscape, a movie spin-off of the sci-fi series that ran on the Nine Network and the Sci-Fi Channel in the US, for Jim Henson Productions, to be directed by Brian Henson.

Hearing that makes me very excited because I loved watching Farscape and I remember watch the Peacekeeper Wars just so I could find out how it ended.  I would love for them to bring this back as a show or a movie.  It had a good storyline, amazing costumes and make-up, great special effects, and of course Henson muppets aka Rygel.

“In the finale, the protagonists, American astronaut John Crichton (Ben Browder) and peacekeeper Aeryn Sun (Claudia Black) got married and had a baby. In the movie, it’s revealed the boy had special powers which made him the target of the villainous aliens so his parents hide him on Earth. The plot follows the kid at the age of 19 when his whereabouts have been discovered and he rejoins his parents on their spaceship.”

It looks like the new movie will center on Crichton and Aeryn’s son.  That could only mean that Ben Brower and Claudia Black are reprising their roles.

John Crichton and Ayren Sun

John Crichton and Aeryn Sun

I hope that also means that we will be seeing Moya and Pilot again.  Naturally we will want to see anyone else they get to reprise their roles.

It will be filmed in Australia, which is where Farscape was mostly filmed.  I hope that means we will be seeing some of the locations that we know and love again.

I know I will be tuning in to watch this when it comes out.

Posted on March 4, 2014, in Farscape, Movie News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This sounds awesome, though I’m a bit skeptical of the son story. Still, I’ll take any more Farscape where I can get it. I wonder where it will air. Netflix only or maybe on Syfy?

  2. I hope it steers clear of Syfy, after they (back in the SciFi days) lost faith in the original show and caused the fans so much pain at the time.

    I’d love to see the old gang get together, at least as many of the old cast and crew as is possible. I sometimes look on IMDB to see how the old cast are doing, seems few of them have had great success since (other than Ben and Claudia, obviously). Odd parts in tv shows mostly (two of the guys appeared in Home & Away for Frell’s sake!). I bet Farscape was the career highlight for many of them, so I’d love them to have the chance to re-live it again.

    • christenagarcia

      I think it will be aired on Syfy, so far it is only a movie so there is nothing for them to lose faith in. I am sure most of the fans are hoping that it will catch on and turn into a tv show.

Leave a Reply

