TFP Manicure Mondays! – “Eternal Winter”

Howdy, nerds and nerdettes! Welcome to the first installment of Manicure Mondays! If you follow us on Facebook already, and you totally should, you’ve probably already seen some of the styles we’ve done, but today’s is different. Today’s manicure includes a tutorial so you can achieve the same results at home!

Also congrats to Frozen on winning Best Animated Feature and Best Original Song at the Academy Awards last night!

Also congrats to Frozen on winning Best Animated Feature and Best Original Song at the Academy Awards last night!

 

This icy design is inspired by the Disney movie “Frozen” and the Eternal Winter that those of us in the American MidWest are also currently experiencing. This manicure is, frankly, fucking adorable, and you can achieve the same results by following the steps below.

First, paint your base layer. I went with a very pale blue-gray for all but the accent nail. For that one, which is only on one hand for me rather than both because screw trying to do detail work with my left hand, I picked a much deeper shade of blue to contrast with the white I’ll be using later.

And make claw hands, I guess.

And make claw hands, I guess.

After that, I used a semi-opaque, sparkly turqoise and painted about 1/3 up from the cuticle (and please ignore how bad they look, since I am backwards and clean up my cuticles after I finish painting my nails).

It looks gloopy now, but I promise that it gets better.

It looks gloopy now, but I promise that it gets better.

Use a Q-Tip or your finger to smudge it around and give it a faded effect towards the middle of the nail.

I do think that the tip of your finger will work better, but the trade off is more clean-up time.

I do think that the tip of your finger will work better, but the trade off is more clean-up time.

Paint about 1/3 of the nail from the tip inwards with an opaque white polish.

Again, gloop-tastic.

Again, gloop-tastic.

Repeat the smudging, towards the centre of the nail. It should look like this.

Very rough right now, but give it a clear coat and you're golden.

Very rough right now, but give it a clear coat and you’re golden.

Use a sparkly clear coat to give the illusion of frost on all nails except the accent nail, and then clear coat all of them, including the accent nail.

To create the snowflake, use a white nail polish pen on top of your dried top coat in this pattern:

Very simple steps, very pretty results.

Very simple steps, very pretty results.

Give the nail one more layer of top coat after the white pen polish dries.

Ta-Da!

Ta-Da!

If it’s not shiny enough for you, you can apply more clear sparkles, but be sure to give it a top coat when you’re done. Clean up any fuck-ups with a cotton pad and some acetone, and you’re done!

Pretty darn simple manicure with very cute results, so hopefully you can let the little things like this remind you why you don’t want to set your house on fire just to feel a moment’s warmth!

But really, winter, I'd like to feel my toes again.

But really, winter, I’d like to feel my toes again.

Until next week, when we’ll be doing an homage to “Game of Thrones,” the exact opposite of “Frozen!”

Be sure to LIKE us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and let us know in the comments how your nails turn out!

 

 

 

 

About pattyinreallife

I'm a graphic artist, writer, film-maker, and avid baker. I sing in the car and laugh at the worst/best moments. I am the coolest nerd you will ever meet. Try not to let your jealousy show too badly.

Posted on March 3, 2014, in Disney Movies, Manicure Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

